43. Jahrestagung für Akustik, 06.-09. März 2017

DAGA 2017

Welcome to Kiel – Sailing City!

Kiel is famous as the capital of sailing – yet there are more connections to the sea: the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel is one of the leading institutes in the field of marine science; and research on Hydro- and Ocean Acoustics is carried out at the Federal-Army Research Institute.

Early on, the development of acoustic techniques played an important role in Kiel – a prominent example is the acclaimed Kieler scientist Alexander Behm, who invented the echo sounder and co-operated with Hermann Anschütz, a friend of Albert Einstein, who invented the gyrocompass (in fact, Albert Einstein visited Anschütz several times in Kiel to go sailing).

Therefore, it is hardly surprising that DAGA will take place in Kiel for a second time.  Back in 1997, the Federal-Army Research Institute hosted DAGA with an emphasis on underwater sound. In the coming year of 2017, the chair for Digital Signal Processing and System Theory of the Faculty of Engineering at Kiel University invites you to Kiel. The main research focus is on Speech and Audio Processing, Medical Signal Processing, and Signal Processing for Underwater Applications.

The Faculty of Engineering was established 25 years ago, the university of Kiel celebrated recently its 350th anniversary, and the city itself was founded almost 800 years ago. The population size of Kiel has seen ups and downs: 150 years ago, Kiel had only 19.000 inhabitants, but until 1930, numbers increased rapidly up to 300.000. The year 1944 brought the number down to 195.000. Today, almost 250.000 citizens are living in the capital of Schleswig-Holstein. A large number of them are students – nearly 600 at the art academy, 7.000 at the Polytechnic, and 24.000 at Kiel University (CAU).

On behalf of the Technical Faculty and Kiel University, we would like to welcome you to the DAGA 2017 – we look forward to seeing you in Kiel!

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Heute, Program committee
Priv.-Doz. Dr.-Ing. Bodo Nolte, Conference Chair
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Schmidt, Conference Chair

Conference Program
The program is now available as conference app and as a pdf-file.

Please take a look at DAGA‘S variety of social events such as Project Lighthouse. Here you can catch a glimpse.

Deadlines for Authors

Feb 15, 2017
Deadline for abstract submission of “late posters”

Feb 27, 2017
Deadline for application for the poster award

Jan 15 - March 17, 2017
Deadline for paper submission

Further Dates

Jan 2017:
Program will be published

Jan 31, 2017:
Last call for registering with reduced participant fee

43. Jahrestagung für Akustik, 06.-09. März 2017

DAGA 2017

Kiel – Sailing City! Kiel ist als „Segel-Hauptstadt“ bekannt – hat aber mehr Meeres-Verbindungen: Die Meeresforschung hat mit dem Helmholtz-Zentrum GEOMAR ein prominentes Institut; die Meeresakustik ist im Forschungsbereich Wasserschall und Geophysik (FWG) der Bundeswehr beheimatet.
Früh schon spielte akustische Technik eine wichtige Rolle – Alexander Behm befasste sich mit Raumakustik, erfand das Echolot und arbeitete dabei zusammen mit Hermann Anschütz – Erfinder des Kreiselkompasses und Freund Albert Einsteins. (Der Kreis schließt sich: Einstein kam nach Kiel, um mit Anschütz zu segeln!)

Kein Wunder also, dass die DAGA zum zweiten Mal nach Kiel kommt. 1997 lud der FWG ein und prägte der Tagung den Wasserschall als einen Schwerpunkt auf. 2017 lädt die damals kooperierende Technische Fakultät (TF) der Christian-Albrechts-Universität (CAU) ein, insbesondere der Bereich Digitale Signalverarbeitung und Systemtheorie. Hier wird auch an Wasserschall, vor allem aber an Fahrzeugakustik und Sprachsignalverarbeitung geforscht.

Die TF ist genau 25 Jahre alt, die CAU 350, Kiel fast 800. Die Bevölkerungszahlen schwankten – je nachdem, ob Kiel eher kleinstädtisch, gerade als Kriegshafen wichtig oder als solcher zu bombardieren war: Vor 150 Jahren gab es 19.000 Einwohner, 1900 dann 100.000, 1914 schon 200.000, um 1930 dann 300.000, aber 1944 nur noch 195.000, derzeit ca. 250.000 Einwohner in der Landeshauptstadt von Schleswig-Holstein. Viele davon studieren – ca. 600 an der Kunsthochschule, 7.000 an der FH und 24.000 an der Volluniversität CAU.

Im Namen von TF und CAU heißen wir Sie nun herzlich willkommen zur DAGA‘17.

Ulrich Heute, wissenschaftlicher Beirat
Bodo Nolte, Tagungsleiter
Gerhard Schmidt, Tagungsleiter

Weitere Termine

26. März 2017
letzter Termin zur Einreichung des Manuskriptes für den Online-Tagungsband

Mitte April 2017
Veröffentlichung des DAGA Online-Tagungsbandes - alle Teilnehmer werden informiert.

Tagungsprogramm
Das Programmheft und die DAGA 2017 App stehen nun online.